Which One Would You Choose?

A friend of mine recently posted on Facebook, “Choose one, the pain of discipline or the pain of regret. And tell me why…

This was an easy one for me to answer, because I talk to my clients about this all of the time. Here was my response:

“The pain of discipline is short-lived and is without regret, but the pain of regret can last forever”

The next time you find yourself making a decision about what to eat, think about how that food is going to make you feel afterward. Better yet, ask yourself if that meal will help get you to your goal, or will it hold you back? It is amazing what we will do to sabotage our own efforts, wants, needs, and goals for something that is so insignificant you will never remember it. What did you eat at your business meeting 2 months ago? What was your late night snack last Tuesday? Do you now wish that you would have gone with a healthier choice?

What has been holding you back from achieving your fitness goals? Business goals? Personal goals? Write it down. Seriously! Go grab a pen and write down what it is that you need to change. If you don’t, you will start feeling the pain of regret set in the next time you think about your goal and how you blatantly put it off. Now act on your goal. Do just one thing that you know you have been putting off or not putting enough effort into. I promise you that the feeling you will get after some time is put in will far outweigh the pain of discipline!

 

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jay Kunkle on September 19, 2011 - 3:55 pm

    Good reminder! Thanks

  2. #2 by Dina on September 19, 2011 - 4:05 pm

    Excellent advice! Well said!

  3. #3 by Kristine Callahan on September 19, 2011 - 4:07 pm

    I’d prefer the pain of discipline. With it comes accountability (which I’m big on) and peace that I am doing what needs to be done. In terms of writing a plan and setting goals, I agree that this is a vital practice in efforts to continous improvement. If you don’t write it down, then you don’t have a plan! Regrets…I am at age where I should be able to account for many; however, I’ve got very few! This makes me happy!

  4. #4 by Barbara Sanchez on September 22, 2011 - 7:49 am

    Excellent advice. Now to do something about it before I have any more regrets!!

Leave a Reply

